Friday, September 9, 2011

William Shatner Sings 'Iron Man'

Album cover for Seeking Major Tom
William Shatner has had quite a career.  From movies to television, there isn't a whole lot he'll say no to.  That includes recording albums.  His famous rendition of Elton John's 'Rocket Man' will haunt him forever, but that hasn't stopped him from recording.  Which leads us to his new album, Seeking Major Tom.

Seeking Major Tom has him teaming up with people from Nick Valensi (The Strokes) to Zakk Wylde (Ozzy Osbourne), Sheryl Crowe to Peter Frampton.  Some add their vocals, and others are there as his band.  No matter their contribution, his track list is what stands out.  Before we get to the full list, how about a magical sample?  Take the jump to listen to William Shatner tackle Black Sabbath's rock classic 'Iron Man'.

Revolver Mag debut  William Shatner Iron man feat. Zakk Wylde by Cleopatra Records

What else can we hear on Seeking Major Tom?  Lucky for us it's a two disc set.  Here is the track list according to

Disc: 1
1. Major Tom (Coming Home) feat. Nick Valensi (The Strokes)
2. Space Oddity feat. Ritchie Blackmore & Candice Night
3. In A Little While feat. Lyle Lovett
4. Space Cowboy feat. Brad Paisley & Steve Miller
5. Space Truckin feat. Ian Paice (Deep Purple) & Johnny Winter
6. Rocket Man feat. Steve Hillage (Gong / System 7)
7. She Blinded Me With Science feat. Bootsy Collins & Patrick Moraz (Yes/Moody Blues)
8. Walking On The Moon feat. Toots Hibbert (Toots & The Maytals)
9. Spirit In The Sky feat. Peter Frampton
10. Bohemian Rhapsody feat. John Wetton (King Crimson / Asia)
11. Silver Machine feat. Wayne Kramer (MC5) & Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge / Rod Stewart)
12. Mrs. Major Tom feat. Sheryl Crow
Disc: 2
1. Empty Glass feat. Michael Schenker
2. Lost In The Stars feat. Ernie Watts (Zappa/Rolling Stones)
3. Learning To Fly feat. Edgar Froese (Tangerine Dream)
4. Mr. Spaceman feat. Dave Davies (The Kinks)
5. Twilight Zone feat. Warren Haynes (Gov t Mule / Allman Brothers Band)
6. Struggle (original track William Shatner / Adam Hamilton)
7. Iron Man feat. Zakk Wylde (Ozzy Osbourne) & Mike Inez (Alice In Chains)
 8. Planet Earth feat. Steve Howe (Yes / Asia)

You can pre-order the album here.  And really, why wouldn't you?

Seeking Major Tom will be released on October 11.

What say you?

POPped by
Jungle Jesse

No comments:

Facebook Blogger Plugin: Bloggerized by Enhanced by

Post a Comment